Tags

, , , ,

Nelson (the kid whose name “is Shoe”) is at it again.

Every Friday, we have assemblies in which the “best” students of the week from each class are awarded a special “Super Idol” pin. (It’s a pony show.)

This morning, when the award ceremony was done and we were closing with some songs, Nelson/Shoe raised his hand, presumably to request a song. What he said when I went over to him was unintelligible. I said, “Sorry, I don’t know that one. Let’s stick with ‘Twinkle Twinkle.'” As I started singing, he started marching, confidently and self-assuredly, onto the stage. I realized that what he’d been saying was, “Super Idol.” He wanted to get an award, too, and must’ve thought he’d worked out how: if you raise your hand and you get picked, you’re in!! I went onstage with him and let him sing Twinkle Twinkle into the microphone with me.

Better than a silly pin, anyway, if you ask me.

