Tags

, , , , , ,

Garbage disposal is difficult in Taiwan – at least in and around Taipei. There seem to be exactly 6 trash cans in the entire metropolis, (plus, admittedly, night market and MRT station trash bins). If you’re on the go with a drink you just bought at 7 Eleven, get familiar with that disposable cup or bottle. It’s going to be in your life for the rest of the day.

Household garbage is even more difficult to get rid of, in my humble opinion. Several times a week, a garbage truck allegedly comes to my apartment around 7:22 PM or something. I’m meant to be there to hand them my garbage. Said garbage is meant to be in a very specific sort of pink trash bag. A different day every week, a truck comes (I think) to pick up recycling. Different-colored bag; same dance.

It has never happened that way. I don’t produce enough trash that it’s ever made sense to me to arrange my schedule around these garbage trucks’ schedules. (No offense to the garbage trucks. They’re as lovely as the garbage they contain allows them to be, I’m sure. They play wind-up-toy versions of widely known classical tunes to let people know they’re coming! It’s great!)

I feel guilty (albeit vaguely so), but I bring my trash and recycling to my place of work sometimes. (I’m not proud of it!) There are big bins there, and I can recycle, throw things away, AND compost.

A hazard of this behavior is the fact that I’m frequently transporting small shopping bags full of garbage, cardboard, and/or decomposing fruit skins. It was, unfortunately, the latter that I seem to have left on the bus this morning on my way to work.

Whoops.

